UH Alumni
home page west-oahu manoa windward maui hawaii kauai leeward honolulu kapiolani hilo

2016 UH Distinguished Alumni Awards

The University of Hawai‘i Distinguished Alumni Award recognized outstanding alumni who have used their education to excel professionally, provide inspirational leadership to others, and provide service for the benefit of UH and the community.

The honorees this year are:

2016 Distinguished Alumni Award

  • Conrad Nonaka (AS ’70 Kapi‘olani CC, BEd ’78 Mānoa) – Director, Culinary Institute of the Pacific
  • Ernest Takafuji, MD, MPH (BA ’66 Mānoa) – Director, Office of Biodefense Research, National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) (retired)
  • Eric Yeaman (BBA ’89 Mānoa) – President and Chief Operating Officer, First Hawaiian Bank
  • Jackie Young, PhD (BS ’69 Mānoa) – Chief Staff Officer, American Cancer Society Hawai‘i Pacific, Inc. (retired)

2016 University of Hawai‘i Founders Alumni Association Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Larry Price, EdD (BS ’67, MEd ’71 Mānoa) – Former On-Air Personality, KSSK Radio

The event raised essential funding for the UH Alumni Association, a not-for-profit organization that awards student scholarships, connects alumni through its events, supports UHAA chapters and UH campuses, and facilitates communication between UH and its alumni.

2016 Distinguished Alumni Awards Dinner

University of Hawai‘i Alumni