14th Annual UH Hilo Distinguished Alumni & Service Awards Banquet

Mrs. Yu Yok Pearring, UH Hilo Director of Marketing & Alumni, Dr. David Lassner, UH Interim President, Mrs. Deby Crowe (spouse of the late Dr. Richard Crowe, accepting on his behalf), Dr. Rose Tseng, Distinguished Service Awardee, Mrs. Joyce Iwashita, Distinguished Alumni Awardee, Mr. Brian De Lima, Esq., Distinguished Alumni Awardee, Mrs. Mary Matayoshi, Distinguished Service Awardee, Dr. Donald Straney, UH Hilo Chancellor, Mrs. Jennifer Zelko-Schlueter, UH Hilo Alumni & Friends Board President

University and community leaders and supporters gathered in celebration at the University of Hawai‘i at Hilo’s 14th Annual Distinguished Alumni and Service Awards Banquet, held on Saturday, February 22, 2014 in the UH Hilo Campus Center Dining Hall. Organized by the UH Hilo Alumni & Friends Association, this signature event includes a delicious buffet dinner and live and silent auctions, with proceeds benefiting the alumni scholarship fund and outreach activities.

This year’s Distinguished Alumni honorees are Mr. Brian De Lima Esq., Attorney and Vice Chairman of the Hawai‘i State Board of Education; and Mrs. Joyce Iwashita, former Hawai‘i Department of Education Principal.

The Distinguished Service honorees are the late Dr. Richard Crowe, former Professor of Physics and Astronomy; Mrs. Mary Matayoshi, former Director of UH Hilo's Center for Continuing Education and Community Service; and Chancellor Emerita, Dr. Rose Tseng.

For information on the UH Hilo Alumni & Friends scholarship, membership benefits, and other alumni events, please contact the UH Hilo’s Marketing and Alumni office at 974-7501 or 974-7643, or e-mail us at alumni@hawaii.edu




University of Hawai‘i Alumni